n_mddExport

Download

Description:
MDD exporter for Maya.

Usage:
MEL:
n_mddExport -startFrame 1 -endFrame 10 -folder "d:/tmp/" "myMesh1" "myMesh2";

python:
from maya import cmds
cmds.n_mddExport(["myMesh", "myMesh2"], folder = "d:/tmp/", startFrame = 1, endFrame = 10)

Source code included.
Compiled for maya2011 -> win32 and win64

NOTE: Many thanks to modomotion (www.modomotion.com) for the idea

Enjoy and drop me a line if you have any questions.

13 responses to “n_mddExport

  • Mohammad Abdulfatah

    Hi there.

    Thank you for sharing this handy little plug-in. I’m not sure if you plan on maintaining it or not, but there’s a slight bug when exporting MDDs for referenced objects that reside in a namespace. The object’s name in this case would contain a colon, which messes up the filename on export. I managed to fix it by modifying the source code and compiling it.

    I’m not sure what would be the best way to share the fix with you. It would be great if you could put the code up on BitBucket or GitHub and add a proper licnese to it.

    Again, thanks a lot.

    • Catalin Niculescu

      Hi Mohammad,

      I am actually planning on maintaining it, I’m just in the middle of a thousand things right and I might not have the time do so for quite a while.
      In the meantime, until I figure out a better way, you could just email me the code and I’ll update everything. Of course, along with all the credit to you.
      If that’s ok for you, you could email it to mcnico@yahoo.com.

      Many thanks,
      Nick

  • Dale Lawrence

    Can’t seem to get this to work. Here is the error I get,

    // Error: Cannot find procedure “n_mddExport”.

    Using Maya 2011×64. Any help would be appreciated.

    Cheers
    Dale

  • Tharder

    Hi there,

    The link seems to be broken to download the plugin.

    Thanks

  • Haris

    Hi,

    I’m having the same problem that Mohammad was having with the namespace. Unfortunately, I don’t have the skills to fix the problem in the code. Would it be possible for you to fix it? I’d be highly grateful to you. Thanks!

  • Haris

    Hi,

    Thanks a lot for the namespace fix! It works šŸ™‚

  • blurframe

    Thanks for this useful tool Catalin. Any idea on what happened to modomotion website.It seems to draw a blank.

  • blurframe

    Thanks for the link , Haris . He was taking it a nice direction , I think he was also working on camera export,which would have been cool. I used it once to export geometry from Maya to Blender to use Blenders blazing fast approx amb.Occ. Anyway.

Leave a Reply

